Frodsham Congress 2010

There were 100 players at this year's Frodsham Congress, which took place on12th-14th February. This year, following Leek, the section boundaries were decided on the basis of the entries before the Congress to even up the numbers as far as possible. The results were:

Major (U200, 30 players)

1st Khalid Kamara (Bradford) 5/5 2nd Mike Surtees (Bolton) 4/5 3= Simon Woodcock (Atherton), Noel McLaughlin (Northwich), Jon Blackburn (Holmes Chapel) 3.5/5 Grading prize (U159) Jon Blackburn (Holmes Chapel) 3.5/5

Intermediate (U147, 37 players)

1st Joe Nemcek (Chester) 5/5
2= Dave Ashton (Pensby), Steve Lloyd (Chester), Volfango Rizzi (Chester) 4/5
Grading prizes (U135) Brian Birchall (Alsager), Quentin Dodd (Buckley Mold), Nick McLean (Cheddleton & Leek), Steve Rush (Rhyl/Stockport), Alan Stokes (East Cheshire), Alex Thomson (Buckley Mold) 3/5
Paul Talbot (Wigan Knights) scored 3.5/5.

Minor (U124, 33 players)

1st Matthew Fanning (Atherton) 4.5/5
2= Harry Brooks (Gt Lever/Bolton), Steve Burge (Atticus) 4/5
Grading prizes (U100) Sean Kane (Aigburth), Ben Scattergood (Holmes Chapel) 3/5
Others on 3.5/5: George Scattergood (Holmes Chapel), Nick Darlington (Frodsham), Andrew De Santos (Preston), Eliot Green (Hassell Orme Clayton), Hilary Austin (Grange).

The Team Prize (a digital clock) was won by Chester A (13/15) for the second year running ahead of Holmes Chapel (10) and Atticus (9).

The Congress was expertly controlled by Roger Edwards, Ian Campbell, Robert Milner and Jim McPhillips.