Frodsham Congress 2013

The Congress took place on 8th-10th February at Frodsham Community Centre. There were 125 players this year, a substantial increase on the usual number of around 100 – could this really have been because St. Valentine's Day falls closer to the following weekend? The Major was won by Mike Surtees, conceding just one draw, half a point ahead of Oliver Jackson (an identical result for Oliver as in 2012). In the Intermediate, Michael McDonagh took first place, half a point ahead of Jacob Boswell, George Glover and Paul Talbot. Jonathan Mahony won the Minor, again half a point ahead of three others: Ahmed Abbas, Ed Patten and David Price.

In view of the unusually large entry, an additional prize for 'Slow Starters' was awarded in each section.

Major (U220, 33 players)

1st Mike Surtees (Bolton) 4.5/5.

2nd Oliver Jackson (No Club) 4.

3rd= Mitchell Burke (3Cs), Chris Doran (Chester), Peter Davies (Full Ponty),

Roger Williamson (Aigburth) 3.5.

Grading Prizes (U170): David Patrick (Courier), Ray Pearson (Penyffordd) 3.

Slow Starters: Paul Evans (Lytham Ex. Servicemen), Mark Talbot (Wigan Knights) 3.

Others on 3: Richard Bryant (Chester), Jeff Smith (Chester),

Nathan Talbot (Wigan Knights).

Intermediate (U160, 43 players)

1st Michael McDonagh (Capenhurst) 4.5.

2nd= Jacob Boswell (Cheddleton & Leek), George Glover (Austin Friars Carlisle), Paul Talbot (Wigan Knights) 4.

Grading Prizes (U140): Jon Reese (Runcorn), Mike Wood (Pensby) 3.

Slow Starter: Steve Lloyd (Chester) 3.5.

Others on 3.5: Ian Chester (Holmes Chapel), Richard Clissold (Winwick).

John Lambert (Atticus), Ben Roberts (Rhyl & Prestatyn).

Others on 3: Malcolm Cawston (Lady Ann Middleton), Martin Coles (Runcorn),

Rob Tokelely (Burnley), Colin White (Chester).

Minor (U120, 49 players)

1st Jonathan Mahony 4.5.

2= Ahmed Abbas (3Cs), Ed Patten (Formby), David Price (Holmes Chapel) 4.

Grading Prize (U100): Mike Friel (Penyffordd), 3.

Slow Starters: Nugith Jayawarna (Tameside), John Simmons (Rhyl & Prestatyn) 3.

On 3.5: David Hull (Southport), Jeremy Hunt (Prescot & Knotty Ash),

Dewi Jones (Holywell), Michael Lee (Colwyn Bay), David Scorer (Clitheroe),

James Waddington (Bolton).

Others on 3: Derek Brent (Urmston), Jacob Cartlidge (Cheddleton & Leek),

Andrew De Santos (Preston), Paul Jackson (Morecambe),

Frank McGuigan (Frodsham), Francis Rooney (Church Stretton),

David Summerland (Leeds), Angus Weir (Frodsham).

The Team Prize (a digital clock) was won by Wigan Knights (10/15), ahead of Chester 1 (winners for the previous four years), and Holmes Chapel (9.5).

The full cross-tables are at www.tournamentdirector.co.uk/results

The Controllers were Roger Edwards, Robert Milner, Jim McPhillips and Matthew Carr.

The Congress in 2014 will take place 7th-9th February (note: definitely not Valentine's weekend).